## AAUW-NE Action Alert: LB974 Will Harm Public Schools From: Liz Rea, President, AAUW-NE February 4, 2020

The Unicameral's Revenue Committee is deliberating whether LB974, a property tax reform bill, should be advanced to General File. Touted as property tax relief, LB974 would make permanent changes to the school funding formula using an existing one-time surplus in state revenue to pay for a tax reduction. The bill does nothing to create new dedicated revenue streams to fund our public schools.

Instead, LB974 relies on a projected one-time revenue surplus that may or may not materialize. Even if it does, the surplus could vary by tens of millions of dollars. **AAUW-NE has very serious concerns** about the financial sustainability of this proposal and its effect on our state's public school students. For this reason, the AAUW-NE Board of Directors went on record in opposition to LB974 at our meeting on February 2, 2020. Our position of opposition aligns with AAUW's public policy priority to support a strong system of public education through adequate and equitable funding for quality public education for all students.

**LB974 will slash school budgets by imposing a new spending lid that is based on annual increases in the Consumer Price Index.** LB974 also caps growth at 2.5 percent, while the CPI growth figure could be as low as zero percent. The CPI is based on the goods a family purchases and has nothing to do with the cost of a school bus, a textbook, or many other school expenditures. Using the CPI to determine school funding will create problems that will further limit local school districts in their work to provide a quality public education for every child.

Action Needed! Please contact members of the Revenue Committee to respectfully urge them to oppose LB974. The American Association of University Women of Nebraska (AAUW-NE) has very serious concerns about the financial sustainability of this proposal and its impact on students and public schools in Nebraska. Help stop this bill. Urge the following senators not to advance LB974:

Senator LouAnn Linehan, Chair: <u>llinehan@leg.ne.gov</u> Senator Tom Briese: <u>tbriese@leg.ne.gov</u> Senator Sue Crawford: <u>scrawford@leg.ne.gov</u> Senator Curt Friesen: <u>cfriesen@leg.ne.gov</u> Senator Mike Groene: <u>mgroene@leg.ne.gov</u> Senator Mark Kolterman: <u>mkolterman@leg.ne.gov</u> Senator Brett Lindstrom: <u>blindstrom@leg.ne.gov</u> Senator John McCollister: jmccollister@leg.ne.gov